Tuesday, August 7, 2012

Real Live Boyfriends

E. Lockhart
3.5 / 5 Gnomes

In this fourth hilarious episode of Ruby Oliver's high school career, the neurotic, hyperverbal heroine of The Boyfriend List and its companions The Boy Book and The Treasure Map of Boys interviews her friends for a documentary on love and popularity. While doing so, she turns up some uncomfortable truths—and searches for a way to get back what she had with Noel.

Roo has lost most of her friends. She's lost her true love more than once. She's lost her grandmother, her job, her reputation, and possibly her mind. But she's never lost her sense of humor. The Ruby Oliver books are the record of her survival.

~Amazon Description~

Can you believe it?  Emily, the Gnoming Librarian, has actually finished a series.  Real Live Boyfriends wraps up the Ruby Oliver quartet by E. Lockhart...and is another tick off my summer must read list.

Ruby Oliver is a basket case.  She's terribly self-loathing, fiercely outspoken, and miserably ridiculous when it comes to relationships.  But she's your average teenage girl trying to figure out what she's doing in the ways of love.  Despite the extremely embarrassing situations she finds herself in on a consistent basis, she's learning and growing.  Ruby is not the same Ruby from book one.  She's finally figuring out who she is and that she's worth more than she gives herself credit.

The series ends with hope.  Hope that everyone will eventually find their way, and there is life after high school.

I highly recommend this hilarious, heartwarming, heart breaking series by E.Lockhart.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...