Thursday, May 24, 2012

Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn't Have)

By Sarah Mlynowski
YA MLY
3 / 5 Gnomes

2 girls + 3 guys + 1 house – parents = 10 things April and her friends did that they (definitely, maybe, probably) shouldn't have

If given the opportunity, what sixteen-year-old wouldn't jump at the chance to move in with a friend and live parent-free? Although maybe "opportunity" isn't the right word, since April had to tell her dad a tiny little untruth to make it happen (see #1: "Lied to Our Parents"). But she and her housemate Vi are totally responsible and able to take care of themselves. How they ended up "Skipping School" (#3), "Throwing a Crazy Party" (#8), "Buying a Hot Tub" (#4), and, um, "Harboring a Fugitive" (#7) at all is kind of a mystery to them

In this hilarious and bittersweet tale, Sarah Mlynowski mines the heart and mind of a girl on her own for the first time. To get through the year, April will have to juggle a love triangle, learn to do her own laundry, and accept that her carefully constructed world just might be falling apart . . . one thing-she-shouldn't-have-done at a time.

~Amazon Description~

Every once in awhile it's nice to read a fun book.  Not all books are fun.  Some make you think.  Some make your cry.  Some make you want to hide under the covers and never come out.  But some just make you smile.  I was sooo not an April in high school.  I had a great relationship with my family, I was a complete goodie goodie, and I never met a Hudson.  Perhaps a part of me wishes I had been willing to take a fraction of the risks that April took.  I loved the chapter title countdown and the way Mlynowski weaved flashbacks into the story to build characterization and backstory.  The book was excellently written.
 
There was just a lot I couldn't really connect with in the book.  Do parents really leave their children with other families?  Would someone really sell a hot tub to two teenage girls?  Who gives a teenager a $1000 monthly allowance?  It was hard to believe sometimes.

So I didn't love or hate the book.  I liked it.  It was a fun pre-summer realistic fiction read, and I'm definitely going to check out more of Mlynowski's titles.

Fans of Sarah Dessen, Elizabeth Scott, and Stephanie Perkins, should pick up Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn't Have) by Sarah Mlynowski.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...